What is it like to be hired for a position that you didn’t directly apply for?

Fortune

Answer by Jae Alexis Lee on Quora.

I never seem to end up with the job that I apply for.

When I was coming off my tenure as a professional fighter/martial arts instructor, I tried to get back into IT, rather unsuccessfully. I heard a lot of the, “but you haven’t done technical work in X years” line. So, I figured I could at least do tech support (I seriously needed to pay the bills). I applied for a job doing tech support work for a company that provides Apple’s technical support services. (What? You didn’t think those people you talked to when you called Apple [fortune-stock symbol=”AAPL”] tech support actually worked for Apple, did you?)

Anyway, the recruiter took one look at my resume and deemed me qualified but then said, “It’s going to be a long drive from where you live to our job site. I have…

View original post 632 more words

Leave a Reply

